Prince of Wales Cup

19 Jul Prince of Wales Cup

After two days held ashore due to 30 knot winds, the 2010 Prince of Wales Cup was eagerly anticipated.  And waking up to steady 20 knots on Saturday morning, it didn’t disappoint.

Come the start the wind had dropped to 12 knots from the west and a relatively short mile long beat was set for the 6 lap epic.  The early pace setters were Roger Gilbert sailing with Ben McGrane and Andy Partington and son, taking maximum gain from the strong south westerly filling in.  Showing early promise in his brand new Ting Tong 1, Douglas Pattison and Mark Tait rounded the top mark in 4th.  They later retired as they struggled with the lack of kick bars on the new boat.  Meanwhile Mark Upside-Down had tacked off right and rounded well down the fleet and Archie Massey sailing with Damian Ash, was lashing his lowers which has parted company with the deck on his borrowed boat.

Two laps later, the wind had built to 26 knots and there was huge carnage at the newly laid top mark and gybe mark, thinning out the fleet at the front. Towards the end of the third downwind leg, the leaders, Gilbert and Partington had both gybed back early to the leeward mark and in trying to do the double gybe into the leeward mark, both fell in.  Massey took advantage of this to briefly take the lead.  However Gilbert proved quicker upwind and soon was able to pass.  And a pitch-pole down the 4th run for Massey turned it into a two-horse race.

Starting the final reaching legs Gilbert had pulled out a 100 yd lead using his superior upwind speed.  However Partington taking the attitude that 2nd is the first loser pushed hard down the first reach and was able to gybe inside Gilbert at the gybe mark, setting up what would have been a photo finish.  However moments later they did a huge pitch pole, allowing both Massey and Upton-Brown through to 2nd and 3rd.  Mark can now banish his old nick-name to the history books after a surviving without a capsize in the 25 knot hayling bay chop.

Congratulations to Roger Gilbert and Ben McGrane for sailing a superb race, going fast upwind and staying in control down the bouncy runs.

1st 28 GBR 1541 Roger Gilbert Ben McGrane HISC
2nd 36 GBR 1500 Archie Massey Damian Ash Itchenor SC
3rd 19 GBR 1526 Mark Upton-Brown Matt Gotrel HISC/Itchenor SC
4th 27 GBR 1540 Andy Partington Tom Partington HISC
5th 31 GER 28 Georg Borkenstein Eike Dietrich WSCW
6th 24 GBR 1536 Jarrod Simpson Tim Paull HISC
7th 22 GBR 1531 Andrew Penman Phil Kennard Itchenor SC
8th 11 GBR 1496 Martin Pascal Robin Pascal Itchenor SC
9th 21 GBR 1505 Simon Hiscocks Olly Spensley Corfield HISC
10th 15 GBR 527 Steve Fisher Neil Barber HISC

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.