Walker Trophy 2010

20 Apr Walker Trophy 2010

Light winds were the order of play for the Walker Trophy on 17th & 18th April 2010. The total fleet of 14 boats enjoyed sunny conditions, thermal breezes ranging from no wiring and shifty up to fully twin wire, all with strong tides to contend with. The fleet were also helped by on-water coaching from Chris Draper throughout the event.


The five races on Saturday were dominated by Roger Gilbert and Douglas Pattison who shared the victories. Fish and the Pascalis were best of the rest, and there was close racing throughout the fleet. Roger also dominated on Sunday in Douglas’s absence, with the Pascalis benefitting from the coaching to sail consistently and take second spot, followed by Neale Jones.


The fleet benefitted from the coaching, with performance and boat-handling improving visibly over time. The beach sessions and video debriefs were also well-received, providing good reminders about race planning and boat set-up.



1st GBR 1541 Roger Gilbert and Ben McGrane (HISC – 10 pts)

2nd GBR 1496 Martin Pascal and Robin Pascal (ISC – 29 pts)

3rd GBR 1538 Neale Jones and Gerbil (HISC – 36 pts)


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.